top of page

Sam Hain

Occult Detective

"Imagine Constantine written by Douglas Adams for Doctor Who, and you'll be roughly in the right area for this highly enjoyable series.  Bron James skillfully weaves a thrilling tale of private detective Sam Hain and his plucky assistant Alice as they investigate murder, magic and other paranormal events."

-Jeremy Biggs, Subversive Comics

Sam Hain - Occult Detective is an urban fantasy series which follows the supernatural adventures of the eponymous occult detective, Sam Hain, and his burgeoning psychic companion, Alice Carroll. Together, they investigate the paranormal and face off against ghosts, demons, and all manner of other-worldly forces which try to cross from their dimension into our own.


The modern world may have forgotten about beings of myth and magick, but the magickal world has not forgotten. Things are not quite as normal as they may seem, and from somewhere across the void, darkness is coming...

Sam Hain - Occult Detective
Volume I

After leaving a party late one Halloween, Alice Carroll has a run-in with something she would much rather forget. Haunted by nightmares and visions, she tries to carry on with her life as normal, all the while feeling as if she is losing touch with reality. Just as her visions become too much to bear, she is helped by the enigmatic Sam Hain, a self-proclaimed occult detective and alleged aficionado of the abnormal.

Together, they embark on a series of adventures, investigating paranormal cases, cracking clandestine conspiracies, exploring the ethereal, and battling with forces far beyond the real. Meanwhile, in the abyss of some unworldly dimension, an evil is stirring, and from across the void a darkness is coming...
If Alice thought her world had turned upside-down on Halloween, she hasn’t seen the half of it yet.

Sam Hain - Occult Detective: Volume I is the author’s preferred text, containing the first six stories in the Sam Hain series (All Hallows’ Eve, A Night in Knightsbridge, The Grimditch Butcher, The Regents, The Eye of the Oracle, Convergence) and features original artwork by Camilla Winquist.

Volume I

Books in Volume I

All Hallows' Eve

In All Hallows’ Eve, the first installment of the Sam Hain series, Alice meets the outlandish occult detective, Sam Hain, and catches a glimpse of a world of magic and monsters beyond her imagination...

The Regents

In the fourth installment of the Sam Hain series, the usually unflappable detective is wrought with fear and paranoia, and not without good reason...

A Night in Knightsbridge

The second installment of the Sam Hain series, A Night in Knightsbridge sees Sam and Alice embark on their first adventure together, and Alice gets a taste of the unusual life of an occult detective.

The Eye of the Oracle

The Eye of the Oracle sees Sam, Alice and James on their most otherworldly adventure yet.

The Grimditch Butcher

In the third installment of the Sam Hain series, Sam and Alice discover something far more sinister than they’d anticipated lurking in the east end of London...


The sixth and final book in Volume I of the Sam Hain series, Convergence ties together the web of elements in the story so far...
Everything is Connected.

Books in Volume II

Volume II

Dead Men Sell No Sales

Beginning Volume II of the Sam Hain – Occult Detective series, Dead Men Sell No Sales sees things start to go from bad to worse, as Sam and Alice find themselves fighting against forces far more sinister than stroppy shoppers.

Careful What You Wish For

In the fourth book of Volume II in the Sam Hain – Occult Detective series, our intrepid investigators have to be careful what they wish for, because it might just come true…

Storm in a Teacup

The second story in Sam Hain - Occult Detective: Volume II, Storm in a Teacup sees Sam facing a thunderous temper of godly proportions.

The Curse of Marehill Manor

In the third story in Volume II of the Sam Hain - Occult Detective series, the trio are plagued by a formidable and fearsome force as they begin to shine a light on the darkness which grips Marehill, and uncover its horrific history…

Other Novellas

Other Novellas

Child's Play

Shadwell Schoolhouse has a long and storied past. Many tell tales of the ghosts and spectres which haunt its corridors: the wayward souls of the ragged school's long-dead pupils; the labourers who lost their lives in the workhouse; those baleful shadows embittered by time and grief...

The Tufnell Park Terror

Halloween. A time of costumes and celebrations. However, humans aren’t the only ones who regard this All Hallows’ Eve, and don disguises of their own…

A Krampus Carol

It's the most wonderful time of the year, and Sam Hain is looking forward to enjoying a quiet and relaxing Yuletide season. However, only a few days before Christmas, a teenage boy comes to seek Sam's help to save his family from an ancient supernatural evil…

bottom of page